SuperMoto Junkie banner

WR250 wont start

19K views 29 replies 7 participants last post by  Vault 
#1 ·
I just bought my 2003 WR250 yesterday (Friday) and ran it down the driveway (slow, I'm a noob) and it ran fine. I woke up today thinking I could get loads of practice in, but came across a major problem. My bike wouldn't start :hmmm:. I then noticed that it was leaking fuel out of the airbox. I guess I left the fuel switch on over night or something. Anyways, the bike wouldn't turn over. I even tried kickstarting it. We suspected a dead battery, so we charged it. Then after a while of charging, it still wouldn't turn over. We tried kickstarting it again, but when we tried the lever would not move AT ALL. Yamaha's have a hot-start thing that releases pressure from the cylinder or something, so I pulled that (keep in mind I am not in anyway familiar with this bike). When we went to start it again, a LOT of liquid spewed out an overflow tube by the foot shift lever. We could not determine if it was gas or some other liquid. So, after looking in the manual, we decide to check the oil. When we looked in what we thought was the dipstick (the oil filler cap) , a mixture of oil and antifreeze poured out. At this point we called the previous owner and he said this kind of thing had never happened before. I looked around online and some people said this happened to them and it was a head or water pump gasket. Hard to imagine that the bike was running fine yesterday, and it wont even turn over today :wtf: If any of you have any idea of what is wrong, I would greatly appreciate it.

#2 ·
Sounds like you get to learn how to rebuild a motor. I'd go talk to the guy you bought it from. Probably won't get your money back, but I bet it's been smoking for a while.

#3 ·