Bike not running right.

Thread: Bike not running right.

Default Bike not running right.

I'm new to this hole forum thing so sorry if this is the wrong spot. I've got a 06 WR450 that I've been having problems with and cant seem to find answers anywhere. Bike doesn't have many mods just a FMF powercore 4 and header and of course 17inch excel rims with Battleax tires. But anyhow went for a ride bout a week ago. Bike ran great. Been running 87 octane gas. Changed to 93 on that ride. Go to ride it 3 days later and it wont start. My batterys been on the fritze for 6 months the contacts were loose so most of the time I'd kick start it. So after my leg got tired I jumped it to my truck and got it started. It was idling rough and backfiring and shooting flames out. So I through a plug in it took off the carb, cleaned it, took off fuel tank and checked screens made sure there was no crap in there. Still same result. So I break down and go buy a new battery and it would start it bout 2 days ago just fine bike still ran like crap. Today it will not start again. So I kick it and first kick it fires right up still runs like crap though and I cant figure out why. Read some things that said CDI could be bad or stator and or they key way on the fly wheel could be broke. I don't have a meter to check voltage with me its at work. Anyone have anything I can do or try thats cheap before I dump a bunch of high dollar parts into it? Thanks

Advertisement

What happens if you disconnect the battery and start it?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Idles a bit smoother but still backfires and shoots flames when reving or accelerateing

5. Remove Advertisements
    SuperMotoJunkie.com
    Advertisements

Almost forgot too. The cover on the carb for the throttle cable assembly is cracked. Would that effect it?